Brexit Government UK Login: UK Government Wins First Commons Vote

Brexit Government UK Login: UK Government Wins First Commons Vote

Brexit Government UK Login: The government’s decision to withdraw the UK from EU law for Brexit has won its first parliamentary vote. The EU Withdrawal Bill was voted by 326 votes to 290 which moves it to the next parliamentary stage. The bill seeks to end the supremacy of EU law in the UK. This brings the biggest constitutional changes in decades in the UK.

Labour party had ordered to oppose the bill, but seven of its MPs defied the order; the MPS include Dennis Skinner, Frank Field, Graham Stringer, John Mann, Kate Hoey, Kelvin Hopkins, and Ronnie Campbell. None of the Conservatives voted against the bill.

The vote was held today morning. Prime Minister Theresa May has welcomed the move and said that through the vote historic decision to back the will of the British people has been taken.

The EU Withdrawal Bill, also known as the Great Repeal Bill seeks to abolish the 1972 European Communities Act; the act took the UK to the European Economic Community. The healthy debate was taken for two days before bringing the bill to vote. Over 100 MPs had their say in the debate.

There remains still much to do. With the vote, the government can move ahead with negotiations and solid foundations for legislative laws. All existing EU laws will be converted into UK law. It is to be ensured that no gaps exist in legislation on Brexit day. The government finds it may make minor technical changes to the laws to make a smooth transition.

The critics were warning against the shortcoming of the bills and considered it an “affront to parliamentary democracy”. They are of the opinion that it empowers ministers with sweeping powers to make changes to the laws without consulting their MPs in the process. Conservatives specifically rallied against it.

UK is slated to leave the EU in March 2019. Read more articles on dailyrewards.